Facebook wants its users to store its synced photos in its own app, and appears to be adopting aggressive measures to ensure that, according to the social media giant in an email to users, according to a report.
Facebook urged its users to install the Moments photo app — or risk having their synced and unshared photos deleted by July 7.
“Users are being given a deadline of July 7th to move to Moments or download their Synced albums, Facebook warns. After that date, Facebook will delete the album containing their Synced Photos, it says,” TechCrunch reported.
Facebook is using notifications to spread the message, and has even emailed users to install the app, TechCrunch added.
However, the change may affect the photo-syncing feature that Facebook started in 2012, on iOS. The synced photos are sent to a private album.
It is the second feature Facebook is closing off to make users install its spinoff apps. Before this, Facebook closed off chat from its main app to for users to install Messenger.