Home » Breaking News » La Salle beats Ateneo
to win UAAP crown

La Salle beats Ateneo
to win UAAP crown

December 7 2016 6:22 PM


(UPDATED at 7:21 p.m., Dec. 7, PH time) La Salle defeated archrival Ateneo, 79-72, to win the UAAP Season 79 crown on Wednesday, December 7.

Led by King Archer Jeron Teng, the Archers were determined to bring home the championship as they were relentless in offense from the get-go, never relinquishing the lead even when the Eagles threatened.

Teng topscored for the Archers with 28 points. League MVP Ben Mbala ably supported Teng with 18 markers.

The Archers swept the Eagles in their best-of-three Finals’ series before a jampacked crowd at the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City.

It was the ninth UAAP men’s basketball championship for La Salle since joining the league in 1986.

Teng, who averaged 19 points per game during the championship series, was named Finals MVP.

It was the first time since 2001 that the Archers defeated the Eagles again in a championship. In their five meetings in the Finals over the years, the Eagles continue to hold the winning edge, 3-2.

The Far Eastern University (FEU) Tamaraws were awarded the second runner-up trophy at the closing ceremonies while the Eagles received theirs as first runner-up on Wednesday.

Meanwhile, Archers’ Coach Aldin Ayo made his own history when he became the first coach to win two separate collegiate championships. The other was with the Letran Knights in NCAA Season 91 in 2015. He moved to La Salle after that.

For more stories on #UAAP79, click http://newscentral.ph/uaap-79/

For MORE of NewsCentral.PH, click below:
News | Nation | Adobo Mix | Sports | Entertainment | Lifestyle | Business | Technology | Trending Now | Wild Guess | Eksena ni Kulot