Aquino inducts new FILSCAP officers

October 14 2014 4:10 AM

Pres. Benigno Aquino III inducts the officers of FILSCAP in Malacanang
Pres. Benigno Aquino III inducts the officers of FILSCAP in Malacanang

President Benigno Aquino III swore in the new officers of The Filipino Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers, Inc. (FILSCAP) in a simple ceremony at the President’s Hall of Malacañan Palace on Tuesday.

Leading the inductees was FILSCAP chairman Arturo Lui Pio, popularly known as Nonoy Tan. Tan is known for such compositions as “My Love Will See You Through,” “You Made Me Live Again” and “Pag Tumatagal Lalong Tumitibay.”

Award-winning singer and songwriter Noel Cabangon and Jim Paredes of the defunct APO Hiking Society were inducted as president and vice president, respectively, of the country’s largest organization of musicians. Both are staunch supporters of the administration.

The other FILSCP officers who took their oaths were Leocadio Sanchez III (corporate secretary), Ma. Victoria Benedicto (assistant corporate secretary), and Raquel Dacillo (assistant treasurer).

The President also inducted into office the members of the board of FILSCAP namely: Katrina Belamide, Rodolfo Cayamanda, Ramon Chuaying, Nathaniel De Mesa, Alvin de Vera and Roberto Rigor.

Absent from the event were Rivermaya vocalist Rico Blanco, Sixto Adolfo Rapadas of the defunct band Neocolours, and Adoracion Saturno, who was elected treasurer.

Established in 1965, Filscap is a non-stock, non-profit association of composers, lyric-writers and music publishers who undertake collective rights management for public performances and use of songs in television, radio and movies.

It is the holder of deeds of assignment to collect royalties from artists in the Philippines and abroad.

It is also a member of the Paris-based International Confederation of Societies of Authors and Composers (CISAC), the umbrella organization of all composer societies around the world.

The organization’s role is to provide consistent income for its members through creative licensing, efficient collection, accurate and timely distribution of performance, mechanical reproduction and synchronization royalties.

FILSCAP currently has over 800 local members, including Ryan Cayabyab, Jose Mari Chan, Danny Javier, and Vehnee Saturno, among others.